Skip To Content


Sep 28 2021

CABE Conference: Shift Happens – Six Ways Economic Thinking Is Changing

From labour surpluses to labour shortages, from trickle-down to bottom-up policies and from export-oriented growth to maximizing domestic potential, the post-pandemic era promises to influence a broad range of parameters that inform applied economists’ ability to make sense of the trends and help shape decision-making. Join Past-President of CABE, Armine Yalnizyan, in this tour of factors that will impact the future of work and the future of growth.

Yalnizyan1_2019 The Atkinson Foundation’s Fellow on the Future of Workers Armine Yalnizyan

Armine Yalnizyan is a leading voice in Canada’s economic scene. Currently the Atkinson Foundation’s Fellow on the Future of Workers, she was the Senior Economic Policy Advisor to the Deputy Minister of Employment and Social Development Canada from 2018 to 2019 and served on Ministers Freeland and Fortier’s Task Group on Women in the Economy in 2021. She led projects at the Mowat Centre, the Institute for Fiscal Studies and Democracy and the Government of Canada’s Policy Horizons in 2017 and 2018. She helped design and advance the Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives’ Inequality Project from 2006 to 2016.

Armine provided weekly business commentaries on CBC radio and TV from 2011 to 2018, with hosts Kevin O’Leary, Amanda Lang, and Matt Galloway. She is published in the Toronto Star, Globe and Mail, Maclean’s Magazine, and the National Post.

Armine was Vice President of the Canadian Association for Business Economics from 2013-2017 and President from 2017-2019.

Armine has a Masters of Industrial Relations from University of Toronto and a bilingual honours Bachelor of Arts in Economics from Glendon College, York University and the Université de Bordeaux, France.

Event Details

Sep 28, 2021 1:00pm - 2:15pm EST

Event Registration

Public Attendee List

  • John Gerritsen
  • Susan Mowbray
  • Christopher Kuchciak
  • Megan MacDonald
  • Pujan Thakrar
  • Ann-Marie Lurie
  • Jonathan Thibault
  • Miles White
  • Jim Whitestone
  • Rebekah Young
  • Alexander Vanderhoof
  • Jane Walpole
  • Melville McMillan
  • Junyi Feng
  • Michael Veall
  • Sandra Dunn
  • Jeffrey Salik
  • Richard Guertin
  • Ming Her
  • Judith McWhinney
  • Inbal Marcovitch
  • Margaret Laing
  • Phil Stone
  • Claire Gabillard
  • Karynne Munroe
  • Charles St-Arnaud
  • Doug Norris
  • Aaron Aerts
  • Peter Weltman
  • Narendra Budhia
  • Michael Willcox
  • Jiangnan Ji
  • Joel Thomson
  • Paul Jacobson
  • Joseph Macaluso
  • John Hoicka
  • James Raymond
  • Ashley Nanner
  • Anastasiia Iepitrop
  • Steve Dorey
  • Natasha Apollonova
  • Erik Johnson
  • Ryan Biln