Skip To Content


Dec 16 2021

CABE Webinar: Corporate Income Tax: Pressure Points and Reform Efforts

Alex Klemm, Division Chief of the Tax Policy 2 Division at the IMF will share his insights from his research on corporate tax reform.

On October 8th a historic global tax agreement that was struck among 136 countries in OECD-led Inclusive Framework. Countries agreed on a reform that includes a global minimum effective tax rate of 15 percent and a fundamental change to century-old norms for taxing multinational corporations. This agreement is meant to make the system and more robust for the digital age and to reduce pressures from tax competition and profit shifting.

This presentation will look at the forces that are behind corporate tax reform, how the agreement fits into the picture and what are its likely effects, and finally what might be the future trends and further reform needs.

alexander-klemm1 Division Chief, Tax Policy Division, Fiscal Affairs Department, IMF Alexander Klemm

Alexander Klemm is Division Chief of the Tax Policy Division of the IMF’s Fiscal Affairs Department. He undertakes research and leads capacity development missions on tax policy. He also worked in IMF area departments, participating in financial programs and economic surveillance. Outside the IMF he gained work experience at the Institute for Fiscal Studies and the European Central Bank. He holds a PhD from University College London and has published on public finance, tax policy, investment, and the balance of payments.

Event Details

Dec 16, 2021 1:00pm - 2:15pm EST

Event Registration

Public Attendee List

  • Stephen Tapp
  • John Gerritsen
  • Aaron Aerts
  • Aaron Aerts
  • CABE Manager
  • Rebekah Young
  • John Lester
  • Erik Johnson
  • Paul Jacobson
  • John Grant
  • Steve Dorey
  • Jacob Loree
  • Michael Dobner
  • Jonathan Thibault
  • Jason Jacques
  • Cristina Popovici
  • Gemma Stanton-Hagan
  • Narendra Budhia
  • Melville McMillan
  • Jeremy Kronick
  • Marina Savchenko
  • Terence Smyth
  • Paul Jacobson
  • David Williams
  • Jock Finlayson
  • Tony Stillo
  • D. Christopher Lawless
  • Régine Cléophat
  • David Amirault
  • surinder Suri
  • Stephen Verhaeghe
  • Steve Dorey
  • Jason Jacques
  • Michael Veall
  • Antonia Prlic
  • Marina Savchenko
  • Sheila Rao
  • Robert Bartnik
  • Aaron Sydor
  • Ela Shadpour